X Suns “III” EP Advance Stream


frontSeattleĀ instrumental post-rock band X Suns (pronounced Ten Suns) have a brand new EP coming out tomorrow. Here is our exclusive stream in its entirety. Check out the band on the road as they kick-off a 10 date west coast tour starting tomorrow in Portland.


X Suns started as Keith Furtado, Trent McIntyre, and Adam Tricoli in Seattle sometime in 2009. They started playing live at the start of 2010 (as Ten Suns).

In Oct. of 2011, they recorded a 5 song EP with Justin Armstrong at Electrokitty Studios. Soon after, they changed their name to X Suns (“X” as the roman numeral for ten), after finding out about a Canadian band of the same name. After self-releasing the E.P. on CD and Digital Download in January of 2012, the band decided to add Skippy King (Formerly of the Seattle band Patrol) as their second guitarist. They continued as a four-piece until May of 2012, when Keith Furtado decided to part ways with the band. He was replaced by Richard Burkett (from the Seattle sludge-metal band Giza) in August of 2012.

Now with a heavier sound, they began to craft new songs and re-work old ones. In March of 2013, they entered the studio to record what would become “The Greys” EP. Recorded by Christiaan Morris at Red Room Studios, and mixed by Matt Bayles (ISIS, Botch, Caspian, Minus the Bear, etc.). The Greys was self-released digitally, and on a limited run of cassette tapes on October 31st, 2013.

Prior to the release, Richard Burkett quit the band to focus on his band Giza. He was quickly replaced by Erick Hohnstein-Von Etten, formerly of the band Claymore (from Port Orchard, WA).

This new lineup started writing new material immediately, and played tons of shows around the northwest. They shared the stage with such notable bands as Pelican, Tombs, And So I Watch You From Afar, Junius, InAeona, North, Dead Meadow, Bearcubbin, Boyfrndz, TTNG, Mylets, Jucifer, and many others. They also did a short northwest tour with Dust Moth & Hooves, and performed at Volume Fest in Spokane.

In Dec. of 2014, they recorded a 4 song EP, titled “III”, with Chris Mathews Jr. It was then mixed by Matt Bayles, and Mastered by Ed Brooks at RFI Mastering in Seattle. During this time, Erick decided to part ways with the band. He was replaced by Jared Burke Eglington, formerly of Akimbo, Patrol, Caligula, Bitches Crystal, etc.

Their third EP, “III”, will be released on Oct. 14th, 2015, with a west coast tour to follow.

Tour dates:

Oct. 14th – Portland, OR @ High Water Mark
Oct. 15th – Ashland, OR @ Club 66
Oct. 16th – Oakland, CA @ Lobot Gallery
Oct. 17th – Fresno, CA @ Summer Sweat
Oct. 18th – San Diego, CA @ Bancroft
Oct. 19th – Los Angeles, CA @ Lot 1 Cafe
Oct. 20th – Long Beach, CA @ Prospector
Oct. 21st – Santa Cruz, CA @ Blue Lagoon
Oct. 22nd – Eugene, OR @ Old Nickā€™s Pub
Oct. 23rd – Tacoma, WA @ Real Art